Children's Upcoming Book Groups

For 2nd & 3rd Grade:

Wind Riders: Rescue on Turtle Beach by Jen Marlin

Tuesday, July 12 at 5:30 PM

This book group will be held virtually via Zoom. We will send you the meeting link the afternoon of our meeting. Register now here.

This book can be found digitally through Overdrive/Libby or you can place a physical book on hold to pickup in the Library.

For more information, or help accessing the book, please email hijuv@ocln.org or call the Children's Department at 781-741-1405 ext. 1403.

About the Book

Max and Sofia are ordinary kids whose lives are changed when they discover an abandoned sailboat. They’re given the chance to make a real impact when the boat magically brings them them to a different corner of the world to help other kids save their environment!

Wind Riders: Rescue on Turtle Beach is the first book in an illustrated chapter book series about Max and Sofia’s adventures tackling real world problems. Each story visits a new location and introduces a human-made problem endangering animals and the environment.

With nature’s highest stakes and environmental activism baked into each book, as well as fun scientific facts included at the end, Wind Riders promises to be the chapter book series for newly independent readers who love nature documentaries and are hungry to learn about the world around them.

There is beautiful two-color art throughout and an emphasis on collaborative problem-solving, compassion for the Earth and all its inhabitants, and friendship. Wind Riders is the perfect STEM chapter book series for fans of Magic Tree House, The Magic School Bus, and Zoey and Sassafras.

Wind Riders book cover

For 4th & 5th Grade:
The Last Mapmaker by Christina Soontornvat

Tuesday, June 21 at 5:30 PM
 
This book group will be held virtually via Zoom. We will send you the meeting link the afternoon of our meeting. Register now here.

This book can be found digitally through Overdrive/Libby or place a physical book on hold to pickup in the Library.

For more information or help accessing the book, please email hijuv@ocln.org please email hijuv@ocln.org or call the Children's Department at 781-741-1405 ext. 1403.

About the Book

In a fantasy adventure every bit as compelling and confident in its world building as her Newbery Honor Book A Wish in the Dark, Christina Soontornvat explores a young woman’s struggle to unburden herself of the past and chart her own destiny in a world of secrets. As assistant to Mangkon’s most celebrated mapmaker, twelve-year-old Sai plays the part of a well-bred young lady with a glittering future. In reality, her father is a conman—and in a kingdom where the status of one’s ancestors dictates their social position, the truth could ruin her. Sai seizes the chance to join an expedition to chart the southern seas, but she isn’t the only one aboard with secrets. When Sai learns that the ship might be heading for the fabled Sunderlands—a land of dragons, dangers, and riches beyond imagining—she must weigh the cost of her dreams. Vivid, suspenseful, and thought-provoking, this tale of identity and integrity is as beautiful and intricate as the maps of old.

The Last Mapmaker book cover